Афоризмы от Margaret Storm Jameson

Storm Jameson

Материал из Википедии — свободной энциклопедии
1950s Penguin photograph of Storm Jameson

Margaret Storm Jameson (8 January 1891 – 30 September 1986) was an English journalist and author, known for her novels and reviews.

Jameson was born in Whitby, Yorkshire, and studied at the University of Leeds. She moved to London, where she earned a Masters of Arts degree from King's College London in 1914 and then went on to teach before becoming a full-time writer. She married the author Guy Chapman, but continued to be published under her maiden name, Storm Jameson. Though she predominantly used her own name, she also published three novels pseudonymously in 1937–38. The first two used the name James Hill and the third one was published under the name William Lamb.

Jameson was a prominent president of the British branch of the International PEN association, from 1939, and active in helping refugee writers. She was a founding member of the Peace Pledge Union. Jameson was a socialist in the 1930s; although the outbreak of the Second World War caused her to recant her pacifism and later adopt anti-Communist views. However, she remained a supporter of the Labour Party. In addition to her novels, Jameson wrote three autobiographies.

Jameson wrote several science fiction novels. In the Second Year (1936) is a dystopia set in a fascist Britain. Then We Shall Hear Singing describes a near-future invasion by the Nazis of an imaginary country.

Her most controversial work was Modern Drama in Europe, a critical analysis of the progress made in drama in the first part of the twentieth century. Though most of her commentaries are highly critical and sometimes malicious, her boldness reaches its peak when she asserts that William Butler Yeats "represents the last state in symbolic imbecility".

Jameson's collection of novellas, Women Against Men, was admired by The Times reviewer, Harold Strauss, who stated, "So completely is she the master of her art, so instinctively the craftsman, so superlatively the selective artist, that a restrained evaluation of her work is difficult for a student of the novel." Jameson wrote the introduction to the 1952 British edition of The Diary of Anne Frank

Jameson's novel Last Score was praised by Ben Ray Redman in the Saturday Review of Literature. Redman described Last Score as "one of Storm Jameson's best" and stated "it is the complex web of human relationships that give this novel its breadth and depth".

A biography by Jennifer Birkett, Professor of French Studies at Birmingham University, was published by the Oxford University Press in March 2009. A second biography, Elizabeth Maslen's Life in the Writings of Storm Jameson: A Biography, was published by Northwestern University Press in 2014.

The rebuilt Charles Morris Halls of the University of Leeds now have a building named after her, Storm Jameson Court.


  • The Pot Boils (1919)
  • The Happy Highways (1920)
  • Modern Drama in Europe (1920) criticism
  • The Clash (1922)
  • Lady Susan and Life: An Indiscretion (1923)
  • The Pitiful Wife (1923)
  • Three Kingdoms (1926)
  • The Lovely Ship (1927) The Triumph of Time I
  • Farewell to Youth (1928)
  • Full Circle: A Play in One Act (1928) drama
  • The Georgian Novel and Mr. Robinson (1929) criticism
  • The Voyage Home (1930) The Triumph of Time II
  • The Decline of Merry England (1930) history
  • A Richer Dust (1931) The Triumph of Time III
  • The Single Heart (1932) novella
  • That Was Yesterday (1932)
  • The Triumph of Time (three volumes in one) (1932)
  • Women Against Men (1933) three novellas
  • No Time Like the Present (1933) autobiography
  • A Day Off (1933) novella
  • Company Parade (1934) The Mirror in Darkness I
  • Love in Winter (1935) The Mirror in Darkness II
  • Challenge to Death (1935) editor, essays
  • The Soul of Man in an Age of Leisure (1935) pamphlet
  • None Turn Back (1936) The Mirror in Darkness III
  • In the Second Year (1936)
  • The Moon is Making (1937)
  • Delicate Monster (1937)
  • Loving Memory (1937) novel under the pseudonym James Hill
  • The World Ends (1937) novel under the pseudonym William Lamb
  • Here Comes a Candle (1938)
  • The Novel in Contemporary Life (1938) critical essay
  • No Victory For the Soldier (1938) novel under the pseudonym James Hill
  • Farewell Night, Welcome Day (1939)
  • Civil Journey (1939) essays
  • Cousin Honoré (1940)
  • Europe to Let (1940)
  • The End of This War (1941) essay
  • The Fort (1941)
  • Then We Shall Hear Singing: A Fantasy in C Major (1942)
  • London Calling : A Salute to America (1942) editor, short stories
  • Cloudless May (1943)
  • The Journal of Mary Hervey Russell (1945)
  • The Other Side (1946)
  • Before the Crossing (1947)
  • The Black Laurel (1947)
  • The Moment Of Truth (1949)
  • The Writer's Situation (1950) essays
  • The Green Man (1952)
  • The Hidden River (1955)
  • The Intruder (1956)
  • A Cup of Tea for Mr. Thorgill (1957)
  • A Ulysses Too Many (1958)
  • A Day Off (1959) short novels, stories
  • Last Score, or the Private Life of Sir Richard Ormston (1961) novel
  • Morley Roberts: The Last Eminent Victorian (1961) biography
  • The Road from the Monument (1962)
  • A Month Soon Goes (1962)
  • The Aristide Case (1964)
  • The Early Life of Stephen Hind (1966)
  • The White Crow (1968)
  • Journey from the North (Volume 1 – 1969) (Volume 2 – 1970) autobiography
  • Parthian Words (1970) criticism
  • There Will Be A Short Interval (1973)
  • Speaking of Stendhal (1979) criticism